College Hall.jpg

As early as 1830, Baptists in Nova Scotia, Canada established a “department of pious scholars” at Horton Academy in Wolfville (founded 1828) for ministerial training. With the founding in 1838 of what became Acadia University, preparation for ministry was carried on under various formats until the School of Theology was put on a more formal footing in 1923.

After Acadia University was reorganized in 1966, the Baptists of Atlantic Canada began to operate the School of Theology under the name Acadia Divinity College, and on June 1, 1968, the College was established by an act of the Nova Scotia Legislature.

Today, the College exists as the official seminary of the Convention of Atlantic Baptist Churches, functioning within its evangelical tradition, and continues as the Faculty of Theology of Acadia University. The University awards all of our degrees. All of our graduate degrees are fully accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada.

While we are a Baptist seminary, we recognize that the Church of Jesus Christ is much larger than our own church affiliation and so we welcome men and women from all church backgrounds. Currently, the College has students from more than 20 denominations.


1828     Baptists in Nova Scotia founded Horton Academy

1830     Department of Pious Scholars was formed at Horton

1838     The Nova Scotia Baptist Educational Society established Queen's College at Horton

1841     Queen's College became Acadia College

1844     A Theological Department was formed at Acadia

1891     Acadia College became Acadia University

1923     A School of Theology was organized at Acadia

1966     Atlantic Baptists surrendered majority control of the Board of Governors of Acadia University

1968     Acadia Divinity College was established as a body corporate in affiliation with and located on the campus of Acadia University, but governed by a Board of Trustees composed of members of churches in Fellowship with the United Baptist Convention of the Atlantic Provinces